Our Best XI (towards a 4-6-0?)

• The Fighting Cock is a forum for fans of Tottenham Hotspur Football Club. Here you can discuss Spurs latest matches, our squad, tactics and any transfer news surrounding the club. Registration gives you access to all our forums (including 'Off Topic' discussion) and removes most of the adverts (you can remove them all via an account upgrade). You're here now, you might as well...

Get involved!

Latest Spurs videos from Sky Sports

I finished Inverting the Pyramid (and stayed in a Holiday Inn Express) last night, so, basically, I'm now a tactical expert :adelol: .

For those who haven't read it (TF?), the epilogue closes with some casual rumination on what's next for tactics, taking Carlos Alberto Parreira's suggestion that the future is a 4-6-0. Now Wilson's book is four years old, yet Spain's 4-6-0 was derided at Euro 12 as arrogant, etc., and unheard of (though it worked). But it got me wondering if AVB doesn't have his eyes on something like a 4-6-0 for Spurs.

Decidedly, a 4-6-0 is not so terribly different from a 4-3-3 (one of the points of the book is that contemporary formations are nowhere near as rigid as we might assume them to be). So consider a typical lineup from our Reading match thread:

[formation=4-1-2-3 GK=Friedel D=Assou-Ekotto Gallas Vertonghen Walker DM=Parker M=Sigurðsson Dembélé AM= S=Bale Adebayor Dempsey]SanDiegoYiddo's suggested formation vs. Reading.[/formation]
Here we've got one DM and no one past the back four who hesitates to run up to the edge of the box. There's tremendous width but also a great spine. The only glitch is that I wonder if Bale and Dempsey/Lennon don't get lost up front getting chalk on their boots. As the heat maps from another thread show, Bale was most useful when owning the outside 20 yards (or so) of the entire left side of the pitch. So Bale should maybe drop back, creating an asymmetrical 4-1-3-2: